[Feature Request / Pipe Dream] No Pen Lag for 3rd Party Note Apps

Note: To my current knowledge, most Boox devices use a single API to unify the way the screen updates, so because of that, I will treat this suggestion like a software problem that can be implemented for all Boox devices, not just the Note Series.

Disclaimer: I am a developer, but I am not super familiar with the specifics of the Scribble, TouchHelper, and Pen APIs listed under Onyx Intl’s Github. I have not written my own port with them yet, so most of my information is based off of reading the docs. So, this means that while I am basing this idea off of something, it could easily be that my understanding is flawed at this time.

The Problem: Honestly, the boox devices’ embrace of Android and its ecosystem is such a smart move in the face of Amazon’s closed nature of their kindle devices. There are tons of ebook-aimed apps, and there’s no shortage of ways to read on any boox device. However, the only thing standing in the way of making this device legendary is the fact that the same openness for 3rd party note-taking apps is hindered by the fact that the 3rd party apps would require the developers to add support for this tablet, an occurance that is unlikely for big-name apps like OneNote.

The Solution: If possible, I would love to see a “Note Mode” section in the app optimization menu. Basically, this would “simulate” the currently-supported method of updating the screen, but instead of requiring the app developer to provide the API with the information needed to update the screen, the user could do that with the items in this Note Mode section. Basically, the options it’d have are:

1. Toggle to enable “notes mode” in the app in question
  2. Some UI element that controls for stroke width, style, and color.