Feature Request: Sleep Screen Showing Onscreen Content

Problem 1: Using the MAX2 for static content, for instance a programming reference manual, where I want to keep the page open for hours or why not days (like a paper book you never close), it feels weird to have it flip to a drawing of a church every 30 minutes.

Problem 2: Practicing piano or other instrument where it can take hours and hours to pass one page (at least for me as a total beginner), the church drawing popping up really get me to lose focus.

Suggested solution to problem 1 and 2: When going to sleep screen, make a screenshot of the actual content, optionally add a small sleep icon to a corner of the page, and use this image for the sleep screen. This way it will give the impression of an opened book that stays open “forever” until I decide to turn page (or the battery drains, whichever comes first). I understand it will introduce a complexity of having to wake the device up in order to use it, even though it looks like it is active, hence the suggested sleep icon for indication. For me at least it would be a perfect tradeoff.

4 Likes

you do have the option of never sleeping, but I agree, the option of showing the same content would be very nice to have.

David Lang

Obviously. That option though comes with a guaranteed battery drain when least expected. Can’t tell how many times I accidentally woke up the ebook when sleeping in its sleeve. The autosleep is a mandatory feature for my workflow.

So, needless to say, I’m very eager to hear if this would be a feature the developers would consider.

1 Like

doubt it can happe. Onyx would need to add to the system a way to screen capture what you have in that moment, convert to PNG, add a layer to the PNG with a sleep icon, then dinamically use the image to sleep.

I’m talking out of my ass, but sounds too much problems for so little benefit, I think they have a lot of things to address and develop first